Select Page

Stravinsky – Petrushka

Video-masterclass with: Michael Cox – Principal BBC Symphony Orchestra

Subscribe or login to watch the full length video masterclass



This sheet music is available to subscribers only.

Please subscribe or login to view.


  • Stravinsky, Petrushka

Date composed

  • 1911

First performance

  • June 13th, 1911, Théâtre du Châtelet. Performed by Paris by Ballet Russe with Pierre Monteux conducting.


Part I

  • The Shrovetide Fair
  • I. Introduction (at the Shrovetide Fair)
  • II. The Crowds
  • III. The Charlatan’s Booth
  • IV. Russian Dance

Part II

  • Petrushka’s Cell
  • I. Petrushka’s Cell

Part III

  • The Moor’s Room
  • I. The Moor’s Room
  • II. Dance of the Ballerina
  • III. Waltz – The Ballerina & the Moor

Part IV

  • The Shrovetide Fair (Evening)
  • I. The Shrove-Tide Fair (Near evening)
  • II. Dance of the Wet Nurses
  • III. Dance of the Peasant and the Bear
  • IV. Dance of the Gypsy Girls
  • V. Dance of the Coachmen and Grooms
  • VI. The Masqueraders
  • VII. Conclusion (Petrushka’s Death)

Audio excerpt from

  • Label: Vanguard Classics
  • Artists: London Symphony Orchestra

Video lesson by:

  • Michael Cox

Related Video Masterclasses