Select Page

Stravinsky – Firebird

Video-masterclass with: Michael Cox – Principal BBC Symphony Orchestra

Subscribe or login to watch the full length video masterclass



Stravinsky Firebird - Flute Excerpt

by Philharmonia Orchestra | Naxos Regular CD

This sheet music is available to subscribers only.

Please subscribe or login to view.


  • Stravinsky, 1919 Firebird Orchestral Suite

Date Composed

  • Original Ballet Suite composed in 1910 and adapted multiple times, including in 1919

First Performance 

  • Original first performed 25th June 1910, Paris. Performed by Ballet Russe with Gabriel Pierné conducting.

Movements (to 1919 Orchestral Suite)

  • Introduction
  • The Firebird and its Dance
  • Variation of the Firebird
  • Round of the Princesses
  • Infernal Dance of King Kastchei
  • Berceuse
  • Finale

Excerpts on PrincipalChairs from 

  • Whole of ‘Variation of the Firebird’.

Audio excerpt from

  • Label: Naxos Regular CD
  • Artists: Philharmonia Orchestra

Video lesson by

  • Michael Cox

Related Video Masterclasses