Select Page

Tchaikovsky – Piano Concerto No. 1

Video-masterclass with: Nikolai Popov – First Flute of the Bolshoi Theatre (Moscow)

Subscribe or login to watch the full length video masterclass



Tchaikovsky - Piano Concerto No. 1

by Slovak Radio Orchestra | Naxos Regular CD

Click on the music to enlarge


  • The Piano Concerto No. 1 in B-flat minor, Op. 23


  • between November 1874 and February 1875.
  • It was revised in the summer of 1879 and again in December 1888. The first version received heavy criticism from Nikolai Rubinstein, Tchaikovsky’s desired pianist. Rubinstein later repudiated his previous accusations and became a fervent champion of the work. It is one of the most popular of Tchaikovsky’s compositions and among the best known of all piano concertos


  • 2. Andantino semplice – Allegro vivace assai/Prestissimo

Audio excerpt from:

  • Label: Naxos
  • Artists: Slovak Radio Orchestra

Video lessons by:

  • Nikolai Popov

Related Video Masterclasses