Select Page

Mendelssohn – A Midsummer Night’s Dream

Video-masterclass with: Karen Jones – Major Freelancer and Recording Artist

Subscribe or login to watch the full length video masterclass



Mendelssohn - "Scherzo" from A Midsummer Night's Dream - Flute Excerpt

by Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra | Naxos Classical Archives

Click on the music to enlarge

At two separate times, Felix Mendelssohn composed music for William Shakespeare’s play, A Midsummer Night’s Dream. First in 1826, near the start of his career, he wrote a concert overture (Op. 21). Later, in 1842, only a few years before his death, he wrote incidental music (Op. 61) for a production of the play, into which he incorporated the existing Overture. The incidental music includes the world-famous Wedding March. The German title reads Ein Sommernachtstraum.


  • Mendelssohn Scherzo from A Midsummer Night’s Dream


  • 1842

First Performance:

  • October 14th 1843, At New Palace, Potsdam. Performed by the Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra as incidental music to the play by Shakespeare.


(Orchestra Movements)

  • Overture
  • Scherzo
  • Intermezzo
  • Nocturne
  • Wedding March.

Audio excerpt from:

  • Label: Naxos Classical Archives
    Artists: Beinum, Eduard van; Concertgebouw Orchestra

Video lesson by:

  • Karen Jones

Related Video Masterclasses