Select Page

Mendelssohn A Midsummer Night’s Dream

Video-masterclass with: Jim Walker – Former First Flute of the Los Angeles Philharmonic

Mendelssohn - A Midsummer Night's Dream

by Beinum, Eduard van; Concertgebouw Orchestra | Naxos Classical Archive

Click on the music to enlarge


  • Mendelssohn Midsummer Night’s Dream – Scherzo



  • 1842


First Performance:

  • October 14th 1843, At New Palace, Potsdam. Performed by the Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra as incidental music to the play by Shakespeare.



(Orchestra Movements)

  • Overture
  • Scherzo
  • Intermezzo
  • Nocturne
  • Wedding March


Audio excerpt from:

  • Label: Naxos Classical Archives
  • Artists: Beinum, Eduard van; Concertgebouw Orchestra


Video lesson by:

  • Jim Walker

Related Video Masterclasses