Mendelssohn - Symphony No. 4 - Flute Excerpt

Video-masterclass with: Michael Cox - Principal BBC Symphony Orchestra

Audio :: Orchestral Excerpt Performance by London Symphony Orchestra :: Label Naxos Classical Archives

please click on the music to enlarge it

Video-Masterclass Trailer


  • Mendelssohn, Symphony 4 (Italian Symphony)

Date composed

  • 1833, revised 1837

First Performance

  • May 13th 1933, London. Performed by the London Philharmonic Society (Now Royal Philharmonic Society), conducted by Mendelssohn.


  • Allegro vivace,
  • Andante con moto,
  • Con moto moderato,
  • Saltarello- Presto.

Excerpts on principal chairs from

  • 4th movement, bars 1 – 34. 

Audio excerpt from

  • Label: Naxos Classical Archives
  • Artists: Krips, Josef; London Symphony Orchestra

Video lesson by:

  • Michael Cox