Select Page

Brahms – Symphony No. 1

Video-masterclass with: Jim Walker – Former First Flute of the Los Angeles Philharmonic

Subscribe or login to watch the full length video masterclass



Brahms Symphony No. 1

by London Philharmonic Orchestra | Naxos Classical Archive

Click on the music to enlarge


  • Brahms, Symphony no. 1, C minor


  • 1862-76.

First performance

  • November 4th 1876, in Karlsruhe, then in the Grand Duchy of Baden. Performed with the composer’s friend Felix Otto Dessoff conducting.


  • Un poco sostenuto—Allegro
  • Andante sostenuto
  • Un poco allegretto e grazioso
  • Adagio—Allegro non troppo, ma con brio

Audio excerpt from

  • Label: Naxos Classical Archives
  • Artists: Boult, Adrian; London Philharmonic Orchestra (1954)

Video Lesson by

  • Jim Walker

Related Video Masterclasses